So I am now onto Day 5 of the IMBC challenge, and today’s post took me a while to think about. I had to write a story that included 5 quotes, these 5 quotes were so random and weird I struggled to write something out of them. But then this morning I got a pen and a paper and wrote, then the creative juices started flowing and out came a story. Anyway here is the quotes and the story. πŸ™‚

Quotes:

  • I am confused at times. Should I sound? Should I echo?
  • You need not answer all the questions! You can just laugh and laugh
  • Thoughts – they do what we don’t ask for.
  • I knew it! That I didn’t know
  • At times we pretend to think on one and actually everything else

Story – Changed Forever:

I sit, I stare, I think. Time stops. This can’t be real can it? You never think this will happen to you. Then BAM…. It does. I stare at the whitewashed walls, the smell of disinfectant clogging my nose. I want to gag, it’s too strong. Then the memories come back. The rain, the walk, the bike. All I remember was a bright light. I thought I was dead but how could I be if I was still thinking. Thoughts – they do what we don’t ask for. Suddenly the door to my right opens and a doctor comes in with people I think are my parents. Tears drip down the woman’s face, maybe I am dead. No, I can’t be too much alive. I try to move my hand to feel my heartbeat, check if I am real and not in a dream. But nothing happens. I try again, and still nothing happens. Now I am definitely scared, something isn’t right. I am confused at times. Should I sound? Should I echo? I want to scream, and try to but nothing comes out. I try to speak words, I claw at my throat, I want to understand what is going on, but still nothing comes out. Then the doctor comes over and says “Mike, I know you must be confused and scared and that is why we are here to help you. You were in an accident last night. You were hit by a motorbike as you were crossing the road and the motorbike couldn’t stop as it didn’t see you because of the rain. The ambulance arrived at the scene moments later, after a 999 call from a person on the street. And I am sorry to have to say this Mike but the accident left you completely paralysed. You were left paralysed from the neck down so you can talk but can’t move your body. But we are here to help you recover and people around you will support you.” I knew it! That I didn’t know. Words finally tumble out of my mouth “How? Where? When? What? Why me?” I say in a coarse voice that sounds damaged. The doctor looks me in the eye and says ‘You need not answer all the questions! You can just laugh and laugh. Your very lucky to be alive Mike, you could have died.” Finally the tears come, they streak down my face. At times we pretend to think of one and actually everything else. I cried so hard because I finally realised this life was changed forever.

5

