So here we are at the beginning of a new year. 2016 has gone into the past and has left us with so many memories some good, some bad but overall the year has been pretty awesome. So we are now in 2017 and this is the time when a number of us start thinking about new year.. new me. Why bother with that though? I mean seriously… I used to follow resolutions but after a couple of days that resolution would not have been met and you would feel disappointed for not having the determination to succeed in reaching this goal. I am a personal believer of the philosophy that you can change anytime you do not have to write a list of what you want to change at the beginning of the year because it is an impossible task that only few have mastered.

That is why I decided a couple of years ago to stop the whole new year, new me photos and I decided to focus more on challenges that I could complete across the year. So on my Instagram account I have posted photos every day for a whole year and that is personally a much easier target than just letting yourself change into someone you are not. Remember that life is short and life is not about the achievements and the success, it’s about being happy and smiling each day. Because this life can end in a sudden moment and would you want to regret your choices made in the year just gone or would you want to look back at the memories and think about how to enjoy life.

My memories of 2016

I can’t believe 2016 has gone this fast, it feels like yesterday I was welcoming in the new year of 2016. I still cannot comprehend how awesome this year has been for me, it has been a whirlwind of emotions and I have been both happy and sad. But looking back it has been an awesome year. I was a bit devastated when Alan Rickman (Snape) and David Bowie died, but then again life is short and it’s about the life we live and the memories we make in those short moments we have on this planet.

2016 has been a pretty awesome year and I thought I would share some of my moments I enjoyed this year.

  • Drove a rib and a powerboat at Weymouth
  • Got BCU 2 Star in Kayaking and Canoeing
  • Went to Paris
  • Watched dad’s band play at La Batterie Music Festival in Guyancourt, France
  • Went to Harry Potter World UK and saw the Hogwarts Express
  • Stayed in a cabin forest retreat in Blackwood Forest (had a hot tub)
  • Finished first year of college and achieved Distinction in all units
  • Visited Windsor Castle
  • Did Santa Run for local hospice
  • Made friends

This year to me was about going out into the world and exploring the amazing world around us. I spent time in places I had never been to and made memories that I will cherish. I made new friends and some of these will last a lifetime.

ruthhawes89

2017… Another year to look forward to

I am so looking forward to 2017 as it is going to be an amazing year. I am finally going to be leaving college this year and will be embracing the world of work. It’s going to be a big step for me but I am really looking forward to it. This year is a big year as well as in exactly 4 months I am going to be 21… Time to party. But I have timed it well as my mum is having a big birthday on the same day and I am so looking forward to the party and the celebrations. This is going to be a year I will never forget. 🙂

This year I am going to be doing more blogging and I will be available to talk, do collabs, guest posts etc. I am also going to be opening up a new section on this blog in which collabs will be done on any topic.

Happy New Year, I hope you have an amazing 2017 and create many awesome memories.

