Hey guys.. 🙂

So I planned on posting this yesterday but I came down with a rotten cold and spent most of the day on the sofa. I am feeling much better now 🙂 Anyway this post is all about a weird quirk of mine, I thought long and hard about this one and finally decided on a very weird quirk of mine 🙂

From time to time I go selectively mute, this means in certain situations or when I am talking to certain people I suddenly stop talking. It’s not that I am mute more that the situation scares me and I don’t want to talk. This is why I started blogging as I find it really the only way to communicate with others 🙂

Selective mutism (SM) is an anxiety disorder that prevents children speaking in certain social situations, such as school lessons or in public.
However, they’re able to speak freely to close family and friends when nobody else is listening – for example, when they’re at home.
It’s important to understand that when the mutism happens, the child is not voluntarily refusing to speak but is literally unable to speak, feeling frozen. In time, they learn to anticipate the situations that provoke mutism and do all they can to avoid them

http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/selective-mutism/Pages/Introduction.aspx

In many situations I get out of the mutism and start to talk but there have been many times when I get funny looks or something because my brain just freezes and I know what I want to say but I can’t. I don’t know why this happens nor what causes it but I think its my fear of social situations that makes it harder.

Anyway this was a short post didn’t know what else to write 🙂

