Right so todays post is my favourite childhood book.. this was very difficult as I am like a MAJOR bookworm so books just come and go and I have probably read to many to say I had a favourite book. I loved reading from a young age and even read books upside down I was that sad… When everyone else was playing about I was sat there reading, learning and absorbing more and more information from the many books I read.

http://clubs-kids.scholastic.co.uk/products/Alex-Rider-Pack-Anthony-Horowitz/9789999450638I decided after much deliberation to choose the Alex Rider series as my favourite book series as a child. I started reading them when I was about 12 and I was in middle school. The Alex Rider series were written by Anthony Horowitz, an amazing teenage fiction writer. The Alex Rider series are based on spy thrillers and all of the plots of each of the books are packed full with action, romance and general awesomeness. As a kid I always had a big thing for action books, someone had to have a fight for me to enjoy reading it. If it was a sappy chick flick I wouldn’t have read it. The blurb of the first book is:

“When the doorbell rings at three in the morning its never good news.” When his guardian dies in suspicious circumstances, fourteen year old Alex Rider finds his world turned upside down. Within days he’s gone from schoolboy to super spy. Forcibly recruited into MI6 Alex has to take part in gruelling SAS training exercises; then armed with his own special set of secret gadgets, he’s off on his first mission. But Alex soon finds himself in mortal danger. It looks like his first assignment might be his last.

I couldn’t believe it when this book came out on movie.. but yet no one has heard of it. I thought it was one of the best movies yet.. with the main role played by the one and only Alex Pettyfer. But alas, the movie was not a box office hit and the series was cancelled for movies. Anthony lost a lot of money and gave up.. but for us true fans we wanted to see the other books in movie… I had read many complaints online… but yet no one can change the medias opinion and they ruled it out as a bad movie.

