In responce to the Daily Prompt Journey

My mum always told me whenever I was down that life was a journey, it had it’s ups and it had its downs.. but you always managed to get through. She always said that my life was three steps forward one step back. Now in my life I always listen to her wise words.. they get me through difficult times as they are true to me. Nothing never seems to be easy with me.https://www.pinterest.com/pin/38984352998603296/

From looking back I have had many curveballs thrown at me, most of them I could have done without but you know… As a young child I had hardly any friends and I spent most of my time in lonely corners.. hiding myself away from reality. I don’t remember much of my childhood only what my mum has told me. When I was about 6/7 I had my first epileptic fit.. this really was the first curveball. Apparently I feel off the sofa and started shaking like mad.. If any of you have seen anyone having an epileptic fit it is the scariest thing ever..

My mum was apparently hysterical and the ambulance was called.. I can’t even begin to imagine what my parents were going through when I was rushed to hospital. I don’t remember much of that fit.. I believe I suffered short term memory loss which is common with epilepsy. The only thing I remember was being rushed by a doctor down the hall with breathing masks on my face and someone rushing beside me.. I didn’t know where I was, I didn’t know my name, I didn’t even know my mum was standing next to me.. For a child of that age it is probably the scariest thing.

After that I had a number of other fits, my memory kept going.. I spent a lot of my time in hospital having check ups and EEG’s. I was eventually diagnosed with Benign Rolandic Epilepsy. Incase you didn’t know this is the kind of epilepsy that is supposed to go when your a teenager. I spent most of my teenage years on medical drugs.. but apparently the wrong drugs. This messed up my brain even more.. till eventually about 6 years ago I was diagnosed with Aspergers Syndrome. This is a mild form of Autism it basically means I struggle to communicate my feelings to those people around me. I struggled a lot at school and had to get a lot of help. But yet I always kept thinking of those words my mum said to me 3 steps forward one step back, going in the right direction but very slowly.

I always think of those words whenever I am down or whenever I know I am to face a battle. I look back into the past and think of how many battles I have faced. I may not be perfect but if it weren’t for my mum and her wise words I would not be as happy as I am today. I don’t think words can express how much my mum means to me.. she has been there right from the beginning.. right by my side. She is the only one that has ever believed in me and believes in the truth. She is the only person I don’t have to lie to. I know that in the US this is mothers day.. hence I have dedicated this post to the story of my life. I know that I want her right by my side when I face the journey of my life. 🙂

