In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “We Built This City.”

So I live in the very royal town of Windsor in England. My family moved here from London about 10 years ago to get away from the noise of the city but still have good connections with the rest of the UK. My parents decided to move to Windsor as it was close to London but also had a lot of history. I love living here because this town is seeped in British history and everywhere you go there is always something interesting to find.

Many people from abroad may not have heard of this town as London is the most popular tourist destination but Windsor comes in a close second. This is because Windsor is home to Windsor Castle, the Royal family residence when they are not in Buckingham Palace. The castle is the heart and soul of the town and is so important to daily life around Windsor. This is a very royal town.

We sometimes see the royal family in and around the town. I have met Prince Philip personally and chatted with him. I have also seen Prince William and Harry ride on horseback with the guards down my road… Right infront of my house. I have also seen Prince Harry shopping at our local Tescos. This town would not be here if it weren’t for the royal family.

So why else do I love my town???? I love the variety you get in the town. This is a pretty unique town with parades, marches, horseback rides, changing of the guards, festivals every day. Each day is different and I love that nothing ever stays the same. I also love the history behind this wonderful town and that so many people have walked the cobbled streets of Windsor. So what more can I say??? 😊😊

