I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and sky,

And all I ask is tall ship and a star to steer her by,

And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,

And a grey mist on the sea’s face and a grey dawn breaking.

I must go down to the sea’s again, for the call of the running tide

Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied,

And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,

And the flung spray and the blown spine, and the sea-gulls crying.

 

I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,

To all the gull’s way and the the whale’s way where the wind’s like a whetted knife;

And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow rover,

And a quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over.

 

John Masefield

I think this poem reminds me of all those lost at sea, with remembrance day coming up. Today is also the anniversary of the Jervis Bay, a warship that was lost at sea and died valiantly in order to save others. This is the day my great grandpa died, he went down to the sea on the Jervis Bay fighting with honour on her in order to save the 30 ships that wanted to get by. He stared death in the face and didn’t lose his cool. I am proud to be his great granddaughter, and every 5th November I think of him and how proud he would be of all I have achieved.

Ā I am very linked to the Sea Cadets and the photo is one that I took of a boat that I drove. The Jack Petchey was one of the best experiences I had ever done and I knew then that I had a desire to be at sea. When my family saw me in my posh uniform they were so proud of me, and my granny said that her dad would be proud to have someone in the family following in his footsteps.

In memoriam of the Jervis Bay and all those who lost their lives on that day.

Ruth šŸ™‚

