I really don’t see the point of having a social hierarchy in a common school. Social cliques are the groups in society, it is more common to see these social cliques in schools because that is where the division becomes most prominent. Having experienced the education system first hand I can say that social cliques are very common. You see the division of society into groups in a number of Hollywood movies like Mean Girls, Wild Child and the infamous High School Story, where the cliques and the divisions are very prominent.

So what types of social cliques are there? Well there are many in society but they all come under these 4 broad categories.

  • The popular clique – This group usually has the most friends and are the most popular in the schoolcliques
  • The fringe group – These usually hang around the popular group wanting to be part of their clique
  • The small friendship circles – Small groups of friends who share a common belief and like to be together as friends
  • The Loners – Really don’t have many friends and like being by themselves like me

There are many other types of social cliques including:

  • Jocks
  • Nerds
  • Preps
  • Cheerleaders
  • Skaters
  • Emos
  • Rock kids
  • Hipsters
  • Outsiders

I think the thing that I don’t like about social cliques and the social hierarchy in operation in many schools is the fact that every single person is unique and an individual. We could all fit into multiple groups because out personality is so broad. I think it is horrible the way that society deems certain people part of a certain group when we can all be together. Over my years in education I have seen and personally experienced a number of bullying issues regarding the social cliques. As the high school musical song said “Stick to the status quo”. Why do we have to fit in and follow the rules when theyare meant to be broken. Why can’t people be part of multiple cliques and share their vast personality with multiple people.

I am one of these strong believers that you make friends by who they are on the inside and not on the outside. A number of movies we see like Mean Girls where the popular group judge others and decide they can’t be in their clique because of what they are wearing. I strongly disagree with this as I think that it is more important to understand the person rather than judge them for what they are on the outside. Individuality is important in modern society and it is important that the social cliques understand that. If I had a friend that was exactly like me and liked everything I liked conversations would get very boring and I would get bored. You need to have a group that represents all the different parts of the school, but the most important thing is there has to be an amazing friendship that everyone in the group shares, this is what makes society work best. So I want to know whats the point of social cliques as our friends are not always those from our group but those who mean the most and stand by you in times of need.

